After a 75-year ban in the United States, cannabis is now decriminalized or even legalized in many states. Regardless, the issue of marijuana is still very divisive. In many states, the future of legalization is still in the air.
The question of whether or not delta 9 THC is legal in Florida has been a matter of much confusion for many cannabis users. After all, it’s only Legal if the state accepts its use as well! We’ll take an insider look at what you need to know about these laws today so that your journey can go smoothly without any hindrance whatsoever.
Looking for legal delta 9 in the Sunshine State? Delta Munchies has got you covered:
- Hemp-derived delta 9 is federally legal as long as its delta 9 content is less than 0.3% on a dry weight basis, according to the 2018 Farm Bill.
- In Florida, anyone over 21 can legally buy and possess hemp-derived delta 9 THC products as long as they meet the Farm Bill’s criteria.
- Delta Munchies is your best provider of legal delta 9 products in Florida.
Delta 9 THC and Federal Law
Cannabis has been used as a medicine and material for thousands of years, but it has become more harshly stigmatized in recent history. As cannabis is now being legalized in several states, with some states having already passed bills legalizing medical and recreational use, there are still many complexities surrounding this plant that need to be studied further because its effects on people’s health could change depending upon where they live within our country!
When it comes to delta 9 specifically, there is an important distinction to be made: delta 9 can be derived from marijuana and hemp plants. Delta 9 that is derived from marijuana is classified as a Schedule I drug and is federally illegal. That said, some states like California and Colorado have legalized marijuana-derived delta 9.
Hemp-derived delta 9 is legal according to the 2018 Farm Bill. The bill states that any hemp product that contains less than 0.3% delta 9 on a dry weight basis is legal all over the country.
Florida Delta 9 THC Laws
Federal law states that any hemp-derived THC that is 0.3% or lower in THC content is legal to purchase in all 50 states. However, each state has its own specific laws regarding THC derived from marijuana, and unfortunately, Florida has a ban on recreational marijuana use.
According to Florida law, “Sale or delivery within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, or other specified area is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000. The sale of 25 pounds or less of cannabis is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000. However, the delivery of 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.”
Is Delta 9 a Controlled Substance in Florida?
According to the law, a controlled substance is a substance that has a high risk of generating addiction. In 1970, Richard Nixon introduced the “War on Drugs,” and marijuana unjustly fell under the federal category of controlled substances.
Nevertheless, since then, there has been research-backed proof that has shown marijuana is not in the same category as addictive substances like opioids, stimulants, depressants, or anabolic steroids. Unfortunately, the legality has yet to catch up with the science.
Is delta 9 a controlled substance in Florida? Yes, delta 9 is considered a controlled substance in Florida, but only if it’s over 0.5% THC content and derived from marijuana and not hemp. It may seem like small differences, but the nuances make a big difference in the world of legality.
Delta 9 THC Possession Limits in Florida
Florida law reflects federal law such that hemp-derived THC that’s under 0.3% is legal to buy and own. However, Florida possession limits for marijuana are different. In Florida, possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor. Possession of more than 20 grams constitutes a felony in Florida that can be punishable by up to $5,000 and 5 years of incarceration.
Is Delta 9 THC Legal in Florida?
Hemp-derived delta 9 THC is legal in Florida as long as it adheres to the federal standard of being 0.3% THC content or lower. Delta 9 THC that is derived from marijuana is legal for limited medicinal use, but is unfortunately illegal for recreational use in Florida.
The only qualifying diseases for legal medical marijuana prescription include:
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus.
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome.
- Posttraumatic stress disorder.
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
- Crohn’s disease.
- Parkinson’s disease.
- Multiple sclerosis.
If you live in Florida and suffer from one of these diseases, you may be able to recieve a prescription for delta 9 THC from a state-approved dispensary.
Where to Buy Delta 9 in Florida
Since it’s federally legal to ship hemp-derived delta 9 to all 50 states, the easiest place to buy delta 9 in Florida is online. Here at Delta Munchies, we offer hemp-derived, full-spectrum delta 9 THC that adheres to all federal and state guidelines and regulations while still being potent enough for seasoned stoners.
Disclaimer: This article was last updated in September 2022 and the information pertaining to federal cannabis laws and state cannabis laws is reflective of that time. Because cannabis laws in the United States are constantly changing on both federal and state levels, the information in this article is subject to change at any time. Additionally, this article is NOT legal advice, and no entity at Delta Munchies is giving legal advice. If you are unsure about your state’s individual cannabis laws, please look for more information on your state’s official state website(s).