How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy Delta 8: State by State Breakdown

Greeen neon sigh that says "Smoke Shop"

Delta 8 is probably more accessible than traditional marijuana-derived THC products due to its hemp-derived composition, which makes it legal nationwide, according to the 2018 Farm Bill. Despite this, some confusion exists over the parameters for buying it.

How old do you have to be to buy delta 8? Do different states have different age limits? When buying delta 8 online, are there any age restrictions?

All of these questions have been answered below. Keep reading to learn everything you need to know about buying delta 8.

Are you over 21? If so, here are some delta 8 products from our shop you can get delivered straight to your doorstep.

From: $19.99
From: $19.99
Sale!

Delta 8 Disposables

Grape Runtz 2G Delta 8 Dart XL

$49.99

 

Key Takeaways

  • A few laws determine the age when a person can purchase delta 8. In most cases, delta 8 can only be purchased by consumers over 21.
  • In some states, buying a delta 8 product is governed by specific laws; others include them with CBD products.
  • Buying delta 8 online may require proving you are 21 years old or older.

 

Federal Legal Age Limits for Delta 8 THC

There are no age requirements set by federal law when buying delta 8 THC. Most times, the age limits for buying this product are determined by the state. 

According to the 2018 Farm Bill, the FDA removed hemp and its derivates with concentrations below 0.3% delta 9 THC from the marijuana definition in the Controlled Substance act. 

The passage of this bill declared that hemp-derived products like delta 8 THC can be legally used in the United States as long as they’re within the 0.3% limit. 

 

How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy Delta 8 in Each State

State laws rarely address the legal age to purchase delta 8 THC specifically. Besides, the state law does not always control delta 8 brands and distributors, making it necessary for consumers to be at least 21 years of age to purchase delta 8 products. 

Here’s a state-by-state breakdown of the minimum legal age to buy delta 8:

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Texas

People over the age of 21 can purchase delta 8 in Texas. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Florida

Delta 8 is currently legal in Florida for anyone over 18. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Georgia

It is legal to use delta 8 in Georgia. Hemp-derived delta 8 THC products are only available to adults 21 and older. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Ohio

Ohio law also follows federal laws. Minimum age of 21 years of age is necessary for purchasing delta 8 THC products. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Tennessee

There is no legal restriction on delta 8 in Tennessee. It is required that the buyer is at least 21 years old before purchasing delta 8 THC products.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Wisconsin

Buying delta 8 THC products in Wisconsin requires a minimum age of 21.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Indiana

In Indiana, you must be 21 years old to buy delta 8. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Louisiana

Consumers can purchase delta 8 products at any age, but many Louisiana retailers require consumers to be 21.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Nebraska

When buying, using, and possessing delta 8 vape products in Nebraska, under the Nebraska PACT Act, enacted on June 30, 2010, you must have reached the age of 21. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in South Carolina

To purchase delta 8 in South Carolina, you must be at least 21 years of age. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Alabama

To purchase delta 8 products in Alabama, you must be 21.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Missouri

There is a 21-year-old age requirement for purchasing delta 8 in Missouri.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in PA

The purchase of hemp products needs a minimum age of 21 in Pennsylvania. To buy legal delta 8, make sure it comes from a licensed grower using legal hemp. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Virginia

In Virginia, delta 8 THC products are available only to those aged 21 years old.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Illinois

No federal laws regulate the minimum age for buying delta 8 THC, but state laws mandate that buyers must be 21 years or older. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Kansas

Kansas legalized delta 8 THC products, so you can buy them in stores and online as long as you’re 21 or older.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in Minnesota

To purchase delta 8 in Minnesota, you must be over 21 years old. 

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in NJ

You must be at least 21 years old in New Jersey to buy delta 8 products. When purchasing delta 8, check that it is made with legal hemp from a licensed grower.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in North Carolina

North Carolina requires consumers to be 21 years or older to purchase delta 8 THC.

 

How Old to Buy Delta 8 in California

In California, delta 8 THC is only available to those over 21. In addition to buying legal delta 8 online, you can also purchase it in stores across the state.

 

Where to Buy Delta 8 THC Online

While delta 8 THC is available online and in many stores, not all of them can be trusted regarding the product’s quality. Getting your delta 8 THC from online stores with a track record of providing safe and accessible top-quality THC products is best.

At Delta Munchies, all our delta 8 products are made from premium quality hemp grown in the US. We use the most advanced extraction techniques and rigorously test our products in an ISO 9000-certified laboratory. When you buy from us, you’re getting products free of MCT oil, additives, or any harmful cutting agents. 

Here are some recommendations:

Sale!

Delta 8 Disposables

Grape Runtz 2G Delta 8 Dart XL

$49.99

Delta 8 Cartridges

Berry Gelato 1G Delta 8 Cart

$34.99
Sale!
$59.99