Is Delta 9 THC Legal in Georgia?

Highway going into downtown Atlanta.

Following a long prohibition in the country, cannabis has been legalized or decriminalized in many states across the US. However, the subject of cannabis is still a divisive one, leaving the fate of legalization up in the air in many different states.

Even though hemp-derived delta 9 THC is legal on a federal level, it is not legal in every state, making the lines between which law trumps the other blurry for many users living in these states. Today, we’re here to take a closer look at whether or not delta 9 THC is legal in Georgia.

Looking for legal delta 9 in the Peach State? Order from our shop and get them delivered to your doorstep!

From: $39.99

Full Spectrum Delta 9

Blue Dream Delta 9 Gummies

From: $39.99

Full Spectrum Delta 9

Mango Crush Delta 9 Gummies

From: $39.99

 

Key Takeaways

  • In Georgia, only hemp-derived delta 9 products are legal if they have less than 0.3% delta 9 THC on a dry weight basis.
  • Georgia has some of the harshest laws against marijuana-derived delta 9.
  • Delta Munchies is your best source for high-quality, fully legal hemp-derived delta 9 products in Georgia.

 

Delta 9 THC and Federal Law

The legal history of cannabis in the United States has been a complicated one. We have used cannabis as food, medicine, and to make textiles for years, but it has become more severely stigmatized in the last decades.

Cannabis was federally prohibited in the US for 75 years. This first changed when California legalized it for medical use (1996) and then when Washington State and Colorado legalized marijuana (2012).

As of today, each state still has its own individual cannabis laws while the substance remains federally illegal. Some states have legalized marijuana for medical use only, while others have only legalized non-psychoactive cannabinoids like CBD. Some have decriminalized but not legalized it.

Since this can be super confusing to keep up with, we’re breaking down each state’s cannabis laws so you can enjoy your weed as safely and responsibly as possible.

 

Georgia Delta 9 THC Laws

In Georgia, the laws surrounding hemp-derived delta 9 THC is reflective of federal law and allows up to 0.3% THC content or less to be legally sold and possessed. Unfortunately, other than hemp-derived THC, Georgia delta 9 THC laws are some of the harshest in the country, as possessing only one single ounce can result in a felony conviction.

 

Is Delta 9 a Controlled Substance in Georgia?

According to the government, a controlled substance is a drug or other substance that has a high risk of its user becoming addicted. Because of the “War on Drugs” that was introduced into our country in the 1970s by President Richard Nixon, marijuana unjustly fell under the federal category of controlled substances.

However, since then, there has been research-backed evidence that has shown marijuana is NOT in the same category of addictive drugs as opioids, stimulants, depressants, or anabolic steroids. Unfortunately, the legality has yet to catch up with the science.

Is delta 9 a controlled substance in Georgia? Yes, delta 9 THC is a controlled substance in Georgia. Georgia is in the top six harshest states regarding marijuana laws, sitting amongst South Carolina, Tennessee, Idaho, Wyoming, and Kansas.

 

Delta 9 THC Possession Limits in Georgia

In Georgia, it is legal to possess hemp-derived delta 9 THC products. However, it’s not legal to possess any amount of marijuana. Possession of anything less than an ounce of marijuana is a misdemeanor, and possession of an ounce or more of marijuana is a felony.

 

Is Delta 9 THC Legal in Georgia?

Is delta 9 THC legal in Georgia? Only hemp-derived delta 9 which is less than 0.3% THC is legal in Georgi, meaning that delta 9 THC derived from marijuana is NOT legal in Georgia for recreational use. However, medical marijuana is legal in Georgia for residents who qualify.

According to the Georgia Department of Public Health, “Georgia’s medical marijuana law allows certain qualified persons to legally possess up to 20 fluid ounces of “low THC oil,” which is derived from the marijuana plant. It authorizes the Georgia Department of Public Health to issue a “Low THC Oil Registry Card” to qualified persons, which will prove that they are authorized to have the oil and protect them from arrest.

Georgia’s law is much more limited than some other states’ medical marijuana laws. For example, it does not legalize the sale or possession of marijuana in leaf form and it does not authorize the production or sale of food products infused with low THC oil or the ingestion of low THC oil through vapor. It does not authorize physicians to prescribe marijuana for medical use. It is intended solely to protect qualified persons from criminal prosecution for possessing low THC oil for medicinal purposes.”

 

Where to Buy Delta 9 in Georgia

Georgia is extremely strict in regard to cannabis sales which makes it difficult to find any hemp-derived THC products in physical stores. But thankfully, since it’s federally legal to ship hemp-derived delta 9 to all 50 states, the easiest place to buy delta 9 in Georgia is online. Here at Delta Munchies, we offer hemp-derived, full-spectrum delta 9 THC that adheres to all federal and state guidelines and regulations while still being potent enough for seasoned stoners. Here are our top-selling delta 9 products:

Full Spectrum Delta 9

Blue Dream Delta 9 Gummies

From: $39.99
From: $39.99

Full Spectrum Delta 9

Mango Crush Delta 9 Gummies

From: $39.99

 

Disclaimer: This article was last updated in September 2022 and the information pertaining to federal cannabis laws and state cannabis laws is reflective of that time. Because cannabis laws in the United States are constantly changing on both federal and state levels, the information in this article is subject to change at any time. Additionally, this article is NOT legal advice, and no entity at Delta Munchies is giving legal advice. If you are unsure about your state’s individual cannabis laws, please look for more information on your state’s official state website(s).